The Shenandoah Valley Workforce Development Board (Board) is part of a statewide workforce system which is business-driven, customer-centric, streamlined, and outcome-oriented. The Board carries out strategies and policies that support both the economic development mission(s) for the local area and the Virginia Board of Workforce Development’s (VBWD) goals. The Board sets policy for the local area, in compliance with broader state policy, and is the regional strategic convener, or acts in partnership with a designated regional convener, to address workforce development issues, including but not limited to WIOA activities.

The Board is led by committed business leaders who can ensure that the local workforce system is responsive to current and projected labor market demand, contains a broad range of partners needed to develop a comprehensive vision for the local workforce system, and focuses on strategic decisions, not operational management.

The Shenandoah Valley Workforce Development Board has responsibility for making the following critical decisions:

  • How best to organize the regional workforce system to most effectively serve the needs of current and emerging private sector employers and job seekers;

  • How best to provide comprehensive services to regional private sector employers;

  • How best to deploy available resources to achieve negotiated local performance accountability measures and build capacity for continuous improvement; and

  • How to expand the resource base and service capability through the development of strategic partnerships, an integrated service delivery system, and generation of additional public and private funding.

  • John Albert,  IBEW Local 50/VaAFL-CIO, Labor/CBO/Apprenticeship Sector
  • Patrick Barker, Frederick County Economic Development, Public Sector
  • Sharon Baroncelli, Shenandoah County Chamber of Commerce, Private Sector
  • Jeffrey Beacham, Woodforest Bank, Private Sector
  • Corey Berkstresser, Lee Hi Vesuvius, Inc, Private Sector
  • Michelle Bixler, Town of Strasburg, Public Sector
  • Kip Brannon, Howell Metal Company, Private Sector
  • Andrew Breeding, Sysco, Private Sector
  • Steve Burnette, Hollister Incorporated, Private Sector
  • Carolyn Clark, Berry Plastics Corporation, Private Sector
  • Jeanian Clark, Lord Fairfax Community College, Public Sector
  • Kai Degner, JMU Outreach and Engagement, Public Sector
  • Steve Douty, Green Forest Surveys, Private Sector
  • Wesley Dove, Dove Consulting, Private Sector
  • John Downey, Blue Ridge Community College, Public Sector
  • Rob Goldsmith, People Incorporated of Virginia, Labor/CBO/Apprenticeship Sector
  • Lisa Grant, Mohawk Industries, Inc. Private Sector
  • Jackson Green, Goodwill of the Valleys – SCSEP, Labor/CBO/Apprenticeship Sector
  • George Homan II, Friendship Industries, Labor/CBO/Apprenticeship Sector
  • Kevin Hutton, Massanutten Technical Center, Public Sector
  • Samuel Insana, Neuman Aluminum Impact Division, Waynesboro, Private Sector
  • John Jackson, Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, Public Sector
  • John Jacobs, Virginia Employment Commission, Public Sector
  • Amy Judd, Lord Fairfax Community College, Public Sector
  • Gary Keener, Dabney S. Lancaster Community College, Public Sector
  • Mark Lauro, Tenneco, Public Sector
  • Jerry Lewis, IBEW Local 26, Labor/CBO/Apprenticeship Sector
  • Jo Lee Loveland-Link, Volvox, Inc., Private Sector
  • Cara Major, Bath Community Hospital, Private Sector
  • Annette Medlin, Greater Augusta Regional Chamber of Commerce, Private Sector
  • Helene Pat Ohleger, Munters Corporation, Private Sector
  • Katy Parrish, Waynesboro City Public Schools, Public Sector
  • Pam Snyder, Comsonics, Inc., Private Sector
  • Jeff Stapel, Shickel Corporation, Private Sector
  • Mary Staubus, Montebello Packaging, Private Sector
  • Julie Suijk, Valley Health System, Private Sector
  • Robin Sullenberger, Sullenberger & Associates, Private Sector
  • Chris Walker, Friendship Industries, Private Sector


The Chief Elected Officials (CEO) Consortium is comprised of a Chief Elected Official from each jurisdiction in the Shenandoah Valley Workforce Development Board service area.  The Chair of the SVWDB Board of Directors is also a voting member of the Consortium.  The CEO Consortium serves as the policy board for the Shenandoah Valley Workforce Development Area and makes appointments to the Shenandoah Valley Workforce Development Board.

The Honorable Carolyn Bragg, Augusta County Board of Supervisors

The Honorable Richard Byrd, Bath County Board of Supervisors

The Honorable William Fitzgerald, Buena Vista City Council

The Honorable Deanna Reed, Harrisonburg City Council

The Honorable Frank Friedman, City of Lexington

The Honorable Carolyn Dull, Staunton City Council

The Honorable Terry Short, Jr., Waynesboro City Council

The Honorable David Smith, Winchester City Council

The Honorable David Weiss, Clarke County Board of Supervisors

The Honorable Blaine Dunn, Frederick County

The Honorable David Blanchard, Highland County Board of Supervisors

The Honorable Jay Lewis, Rockbridge County Board of Supervisors

The Honorable Pablo Cuevas, Rockingham County Board of Supervisors

The Honorable Conrad Helsley, Shenandoah County Board of Supervisors

The Honorable Linda Glavis, Warren County Board of Supervisors

The Honorable Morgan Phenix, Page County Board of Supervisors

Learn About Our Board

Learn more about the Shenandoah Valley Workforce Development Board below.

About Our Board
View Board and CEO Roles Chart
Upcoming Meetings
View Public Documents

Didn’t Find Your Answer?

Please don’t hesitate to contact us and we will be happy to help you find the answers to your questions!

Contact Us